31 Comments
Nov 8, 2022Liked by Francesca Specter

Since moving from London to Switzerland I feel pressure to stay on top of what my family is doing “back home” and like I should fly back for every event. I wish I could be there for everything and sometimes I’m sad I’m missing out but I think I could establish some boundaries in 2023 and be stricter with priorities so I’m there for the big moments without getting overwhelmed with flying back and forth.

Expand full comment
Nov 8, 2022Liked by Francesca Specter

Hi! My name is Mariana and I’m from Portugal but have lived in London for a long while. My biggest should right now (especially since recently turning 30) is that I should know where I’m heading by now - professionally, in my relationships, geographically…but I have no clue and it makes it very hard to set goals. How do aim for something when you don’t know what you want? I would be very interested to learn more people go about finding purpose or at least a sense of direction in this weird weird world… As for a could, I’m on my way to my first proper boxing lesson, which could become a hobby - we shall see!

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2022Liked by Francesca Specter

Really working on nourishing myself. I was not raised to listen to intuitive cues to hunger, pain, etc., and after being diagnosed with an immune illness and coming out as trans and neurodivergent, I am starting to realize few normative expectations for what is “good” for me will truly apply. I am challenging myself to turn to my body/mind as the authority on what’s best for me

Expand full comment

I feel old looking at all the posts below, but here goes nothing. I am 64 and a widow. I would also describe myself as an eccentric, slightly reclusive dog woman. I haven’t started barking yet. Although, Mildred and Humphrey are learning the art of looking interested in good political rants/debates, while having their ears rubbed. I should explain they are 2 young boisterous black labradors. I now feel I should live/return to the real world from the oblivion I slipped into during the pandemic, having previously led a busy life as a supported housing consultant, wife, mother etc. I am half way through Alonement very Interesting, thought provoking and true.

PS I haven’t started my newsletter…. I should … but likely to be drowned by procrastination. I want to aim for a newsletter about returning the real world as a grumpy old woman.

Expand full comment

My first ‘should’ to overcome was to stop saying to myself I should leave this community to others & not post.

Well done Francesca on the launch. Looking forward to engaging & learning.

Lots of shoulds but probably fewer than earlier years - less existential, more focused on self-care & compassion. Experience has given me the skills to self-examine what’s going on for me with the ‘should’.

That said I feel I should exercise more consistently.

I really could begin to journal daily again.

Expand full comment
Nov 8, 2022·edited Nov 8, 2022

I'm currently off work long-term sick and can drown in "shoulds"! Particularly "I should be more productive" and use my time to do something "improving" (whatever that means) but keeping in touch with family and friends also scores highly - appreciate the other writer pointing that out below. My "could" is the other side of that coin, I am trying to challenge myself by thinking actually, I "could" do nothing of importance, and just focus on pleasing myself... and see if the world ends?? Easier said than done! I personally wonder if the "shoulds" come from a general idea women are fed that we are always somehow doing something wrong - we can't just accept a less than perfect situation, we have to fix it by doing X, Y or Z... looking forward to reading more about this Francesca :)

Expand full comment

I feel like there’s so much pressure around the Shoulds of milestones by certain ages! I’ve written so many songs about this 🙈

Expand full comment

There are always things I feel I “should” be doing, but at the moment I think my biggest is thinking I should have everything figured out. We all know that comparison is the thief of joy, but it’s so difficult not to think that everyone is achieving more than you are. There are only so many hours in the day and if I can give one piece of advice to the lovely people in this community it would be to be kinder to yourself ❤️ we’re all just trying our best and that’s all we can do x

Expand full comment

I am the same way! I've been struggling to go to bed at a decent hour for years but it seems I cherish the intimacy of a night too much. How beautiful it is to steal a glimpse of a breaking dawn while everyone's asleep! I went as far as setting an alarm for midnight that said "Beauty sleep". Nothing worked. Miraculously, what did it for me was taking a 28 day Power Yoga challenge. I practice in the morning before work and as I hate to rush through my routine I automatically started going to bed earlier feeling excited about the coming day. Organic is the best way to change :) Good luck with cracking your system!

My should at the moment is to start eating intuitively and learn to listen to my body instead of being pressured socially. My could for next month is to become my own artist - there's an option to colour by numbers a painting by a famous artist. It's my first time and I expect it to be my productive meditation haha

Thank you for this safe space!

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022·edited Nov 10, 2022

Since moving alone due to sad circumstances, my biggest should is "I should think of my (possibly catastrophic) future". This should implies many sub-shoulds such as "I should save money in case of an emergency" "I should not quit the job I don't like until finding a new one" "I should not buy things I don't need" "I should plan my retirement fund".

I don't understand how these shoulds have taken control. They have made me feel scared about any kind of future in store.

So my Could would be: I wish I could stop thinking that way!

Ps. I'm an early bird instead. :)

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment